We Are Living In The Good Ol’ Days

I heard a story about a young doctor named Paul. At one point, Paul and his wife had three children under the age of 6. Stressed out from the long hours of his demanding job, once he gets off work he just wants to go home and rest. But no, once he gets home he had babies to deal with. Diapers to change, children waking up in the middle of the night, and much more. Of course, he loves his family. But he was living a stressed life. He wasn’t enjoying life, just enduring life.

One day, one of his patients changed his perspective. An elderly woman named Ella came in for a check-up. He had known Ella for many, many years. A few months earlier, Ella’s husband of 50 years had passed away. As usual, Paul was in a big hurry. He was late for an operation, plus he had another patient to see. He found himself rushing through the check-up. As he finished up, Ella asked him if she can talk to him about something. Paul thought she was going to ask him a medical question. But Ella looked Paul straight in the eye and said “Paul, you look so stressed. I just want to know how you are doing?” Paul was taken back. He apologized for being in such a hurry. He began to explain how hectic things were. How busy things are with the babies and being swamped at the office. Paul said, “Ella, I kind of feel frustrated right now. It’s a very difficult season. I wish I had more time. I just can’t wait for it to be through.”

To be polite, Paul said, “Oh Ella, you’re the one that lost you’re husband, how are you doing? Is there anything you wish for?” Ella eyes lit up. She said, “Dr. Paul, I would give anything to be where you are as a young parent. I would give anything to hear the pitter-patter of my children’s feet running through the house. I would give anything to change a diaper, to give formula, to rock my children to sleep. How I long for those days.” Tears started running down her cheeks. She said, “Paul, one day you are going to look back, and miss the very season that you are trying to hurry through.”

Paul left that day with a different perspective. He couldn’t wait to change his children’s diapers. Paul’s wife thought he had lost his mind! He looked forward to his children waking up in the middle of the night, so he can spend time putting them back to sleep. With the simple shift in perspective, Paul went from enduring his life, to enjoying his life.

Are you missing out on the best of life because your perspective is off? As we begin a new year, I encourage you to change your perspective. We are living in the good ol’ days. Twenty years from now, you’ll be saying, “You remember when our children were small?” “Remember when we first moved in to our new home?” “Remember when we were up studying and sharing stories?” These are the good ol’ days. Ignite the moment, make memories together, appreciate the good in life. Every day is a gift. What are you doing with yours?

Thank you Joel for this great message!

Photo courtesy of Flickr, Lisa Ruokis.

Comments
One Response to “We Are Living In The Good Ol’ Days”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] on what I have written, I came across a post I wrote around this time last year. It was a story about a young doctor named Paul. The lesson from that story is to put things in perspective. Afterwards, this article I read gave […]



Leave a comment