Find Your Music Within – Part 1

Oprah Winfrey. Successful? Yes. Inspirational? Yes. Iconic? Like no other. We simply know her as “Oprah” — joining the ranks of what I like to call “one-namers” (e.g. Madonna, Beyonce, and Prince). Her show, The Oprah Winfrey Show, has been on air for 25 years. Yet, the only episode I can say I saw was her last. Show 4,561, I finally decided to watch. I’m glad I did. Here are some of my favorite quotes:

“There’s a difference between thinking you deserve to be happy and knowing that you are worthy of being happy. Your being alive makes worthiness your birthright. You alone are enough.”

Everyone has a platform, Winfrey said. “Mine is a stage in a studio. Yours is wherever you are, with your own reach.”

“I’ve talked to nearly 30,000 people on this show, and all 30,000 had one thing in common — they all wanted validation. … They want to know, do you hear me? Do you see me? Does what I say mean anything to you?”

“You also have to know what sparks the light in you so that you in your own way can illuminate the world. You have the power to change somebody’s life.”

And finally:

“Your life is speaking to you. What does it say?”

That last quote reminded me of my college graduation commencement speaker, Richard Pimentel. A former Portland State student, Pimentel was the subject of the 2007 motion picture film, Music Within, starring Ron Livingston as Pimentel. The film documents the life of Pimentel, an amazing public speaker with a challenged past, who returns from Vietnam severely hearing-impaired and discovers a new purpose in his historic efforts on the behalf of Americans with disabilities.

During his commencement speech, Pimentel reminded us to find our music within. He urged us to not go to our graves with our music still inside of us. “What exactly did he mean,” I thought.

Find out by reading Part 2… (coming soon)

Photo courtesy of Flickr, doug88888.

Leave a Reply

