Don’t Cry Because It’s Over…

Group Pic

I was a junior at Portland State when I decided I was going to pursue an MBA someday. Beyond more career opportunities, I wanted to challenge myself. I wanted to grow intellectually. I wanted to see how far I can stretch my limits. Fast forward a few years to Mother’s Day 2013. Last Sunday, I sat on stage in full graduate regalia staring out at a buzzing crowd. In the sea of proud parents, relatives, and friends, I spotted my mom and dad. No one supported my decision more than those two. I’m sitting here writing this blog as a freshly minted MBA because of those two.

It’s been a wild ride! Two years sure flies by when you’re reading a lot of books, cases, and writing a bunch of papers. Haha, beyond that was also a lot of team projects, presentations, and personal/professional development. I’m excited about the opportunities that this may bring, and look forward to reconnecting with all my fellow graduates in the future!

I was a little sad that it was all over. It was like watching the series finale of the Office last night. When you’ve invested so much time and energy into something, it’s hard to see it end. Then I remembered the words of Dr. Seuss, “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.” I’ve been smiling since :-)

Photo courtesy of one of the amazing administrators that make things happen at Atkinson. Russ? Matt? Sorry, I was too caught up in the moment to realize who took the picture!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,095 other followers

